Julian Burtons Burstrust

Annual Report 2015/16 . Board of Directors

The Julian Burton Burns Trust was incorporated in July 2005 under the governance of a national Board integrating business, philanthropic and healthcare professionals. The 2015/16 Board brought collective and individual strengths, skills and experience that enabled the Burns Trust to foster stronger relationships within the Government, corporate and philanthropic sectors throughout the year. 

Julian Burton OAM - Executive Chair

Julian is the founding CEO of the Julian Burton Burns Trust and is currently Executive Chair.

Julian provides leadership to the Board and Burns Trust team in the strategic direction of the organisation with a focus on partner relations and government lobbying.

Julian has three sons, Max, Archie and Sebastian.

Sheila Kavanagh AM - Secretary

Sheila is a previous Vice President of the Australian & New Zealand Burn Association and has been the Nurse in Charge of the Royal Adelaide Hospital Burns Unit since 1996. 

Sheila is a co-founder and life member of the Burns Trust and was an influence on Julian in setting up the Trust in 2003. Sheila brings an in-depth knowledge of the national and international burns landscape to the Burns Trust Board and assists us in further developing strong relationships with the burns community. 

Peter Edwards

Peter joined the Burns Trust Board in 2007 and is Managing Director of the Victor Smorgon Group located in Melbourne. 

He is a businessman and entrepreneur currently investing in bio fuels and other sustainable resources including recycling waste, the farming of Blue-Fin Tuna and hydroponically grown truss tomatoes, both in South Australia.

Peter has also followed his grandfather, Victor Smorgon AC, patron of the Burns Trust in the area of philanthropy through the Victor Smorgon Charitable Fund.

Chris Wootton

Chris became a Director of the Burns Trust in November 2015.

Chris has extensive knowledge of philanthropy having worked with some of the largest trusts and grant funding bodies in Australia including the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust; William Buckland Foundation; L E W Carty Charitable Trust, The Felton Bequest; Sylvia & Charles Viertel Charitable Trust, the JO & JR Wicking Trust and the RACV Community Foundation.

He is currently the Philanthropic Services Manager at Philanthropy Australia.